MK Barr Journal

Earthly Wonder

Cahokia or Kahokia…it was HUGE and not that big of a leap that it expands down through South America

"Mississippian cultures HRoe 2010" by Herb Roe. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons

“Mississippian cultures HRoe 2010” by Herb Roe. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons

They found many artifacts during the archaeological digs from the Pacific coast to the Great Lakes and down through Florida. Also, most of their artwork looks like the Mayan culture. I don’t think they’re exactly the same but I do think there was a common trade between them or at least what we think was left of them. Maybe there was a brain drain then? Moreover, most of the ancient trails lead across the country and down through Mexico and up and across, through Canada.

I sincerely hope that this culture gets recognized as equal to the Egyptians, the Greeks, the Chinese (although they have some issues on that too)…on their own. I saw a History Channel episode of a geologist that researched the Waubansee stone and decided at the end that it came from Europe somewhere. How rude to attribute it to Europeans when the Cahokians had a huge city and culture while Europeans were in the dark ages. Native Americans didn’t even make his top 3 to choose from even though it looked exactly like one.

Time to let go of the old way of thinking and let’s move on to new ways of thinking. The First Peoples were AWESOME! Not fancy free and perfect since they were human but still overwhelming in their size and capabilities. The Monk’s Mound is at least 110′ high and had around 100 buildings (most of them aren’t small either) surrounding it (that we know of, there could be lots more). The archaeologists say 10,000 inhabitants but I’m saying that has to be conservative when you look at this map and visit recent evidence about St. Louis.

I hope I don’t sound preachy.  I’m just a little frustrated since there are friends of mine that didn’t even know Cahokia existed. I don’t blame them, I blame our warped history books.

I will go into the celestial calender and how I came up with the design on another post.  That part was fun since I kept figuring things out as I went and it all tied together so neatly. I’m not saying that everything I draw or show in the video is correct, I just want to start the discussion and look at Kahokia in an expanded world view.

www.Kahokia.org

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2015 by in -Kahokia, Miscellaneous, o My Video &/or Art and tagged , , , , , , , , .
