Guest Artist for Mini Maker Fair in Seattle – A great event!

I was asked by Tamara Clammer, a maker advocate for Brown Paper Tickets (a great company btw article about the company ) to be a guest artist for her at the faire. She had set up a Re-make it Station there. I had never been to a maker event and I can’t recommend it enough! The hands on art projects, the robots, the 3d printers and lasers, the remote controlled couch, a giant tricycle that certain lucky ones could ride along with many more fun things. I just kept thinking that the kids that were there are going to carry these things with them… probably without them even knowing it. Maybe small towns in America already do this, but it seems like it would be great for rural communities. Perhaps a traveling truck event?

Thor was drilling and making art projects work (see pic at this link) from the children’s dreaming requests when I got there. The kids were LOVING it.  I did arm knitting which was a blast. Here are the websites that gave me the inspiration:

Arm Knitting Process: Simply Maggie

T-shirt Yarn or Yabric Process (a little girl told me that yabric is what it’s called 🙂 ) : http://knitting.about.com/od/yarn/ss/t-shirt-yarn.htm#showall Note: I have to say that I just sort of went by intuition since the pics aren’t that great for this tutorial. You are basically doing a spiral up the t-shirt. I hope that helps.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.